Hobby Day Countdown!

The Fountaindale Public Library District will be hosting its Second Annual Hobby Day on Sunday, January 24th from 2 pm to 4 pm (at the Bolingbrook facility). It’s a showcase for our staff to show off the hobbies that they love when they’re away from the workaday world of the library. Maybe, you can learn about a new hobby from one of us!

As a lead-up to the big day, we’re going to share on the various library blogs biographies of our staff and a little description of their hobbies from time to time. First up, from Tony Lucarelli, our Business Services Librarian:
*******************
For me, there is a family history of cooking as my grandfather on my dad’s side was a cook in the Italian Army during World War II and became a Parisian trained chef after the war. I also had an uncle that was a chef. Both worked at the former Blackstone Hotel located in downtown Chicago. Various family members in Italy have had interests in the restaurant business in the Tuscan region. From my mom’s side of the family comes a Slavic influence as my grandparents were from Slovakia and were good cooks in their own right. My grandfather on my mom’s side was a cook in the US Army Air Corp. during World War II.

I had my interest in cooking begin while helping out my parents in the kitchen and that interest has blossomed since I started living on my own. I frequently come up with recipes by finding recipes on the Internet and in cookbooks and then combining them or changing them to meet mytastes. I rarely use specific measurements, preferring to eyeball it when I cook. After all, “Cooking is an art, baking is a science and I did not too well at science.”

I enjoy watching Good Eats on the Food Network and Barbecue U on PBS. My specialties include baked mostaccioli, kung pao beef, chicken saltimbocca, beer can chicken, baby back ribs, jambalaya and fresh salsa.

Oh, and here’s a tip for cutting onions: to avoid “crying”, if you have a gas stove, turn on the burner closest to the counter where you will be cutting the onions. The flame will attract the sulfuric compounds released from the cut onion and the compounds will not make it up to your eyes. I have to credit Alton Brown for that one. It really does work!

Leave a Reply

